Select Page

Day 6 And the blue courts at the Gaspar Dias Open witnessed games in the Men’s Singles, Men’s Doubles, Mixed Doubles, Under 12 Boys and Ladies singles. Vivek Chaurasia beat Kanwalpreet Singh with a score of 4-2,4-1 and on the other court Prathamesh defeated Pritish in a nail-biting encounter with a score 4-3 in the 1st set and finally ending it with a score of 4-2 in the 2nd set.

The Ladies Singles category saw a cracker of a match between Poojal Naik and Simran Bundela. The 1st set was taken easily by Simran Bundela with a score 4-2. Poojal came back strong in the 2nd set winning it in a close contest with a score 4-3. Poojalfinally closed the match with a score of 10-7 In a Super Tie Breaker, going through to the next round.

In the Boys Under 12 category, Puneet defeated Aryan with a score of 6-0.

The last few games saw , Ishaan Badagi marched into the next round of the presently ongoing Gadre Gaspar Dias Open tournament. The Under 12 Boys category witnessed AravEshwar convincingly defeated Darsh Pai with a score of 6-0 to secure his place in the next round of the championship. While Vidhi Naik overpowered Teethi with a score of 6-4 and is said to step closer to the title.

Vara Eshwar got the better of Saanvi in the Under 12 Girls category with a score of 6-0 and inched closer to the title. Meanwhile Nagesh Naik was engaged in an intense battle with Ankit Bhateja going down 2-4 in the first set, Nagesh fought back in the second set winning it 4-2 , and then eventually  it was Ankit won the battle by winning the third set with a tie- breaker 4-3 in the Men’s Singles category.

The three times champion Tejas Shevde dominates his game against Pushkar in the Men’s Singles Category defeating him with a score of 4-0, 4-0 in straight sets.

In the boys Under-16 category where Saiel Gajinkar defeated Aryan Kunkolkar with a score of 6-0 and Ankit Bhateja beat Kai Wong with a score of 6-0. Also, Darian Dacosta defeated Shay Walke with a score of 6-1. In the girls Under-16 category, VaraEshwar got the better of Suby winning the match with a score of 6-1.

Gadre Gaspar Dias Open 2020 commenced with over 250 entries coming in across eight categories. The tournament is being organized by Clube Tennis de Gaspar Dias, Goa’s first tennis club in partnership with Goa State Tennis Association (GSTA) and Gadre Premium Seafood.

Gadre Gaspar Dias Open is in its fifth edition and will be an annual fixture on the state’s tennis calendar. Spread over nine days, matches are scheduled between 7.00am and 10.00am in the morning and between 4.00pm and 10.00pm in the evening. The finals will be held on 2nd February 2020.

The tournament matches are open to spectators and tennis fans. The organizers have created an exciting atmosphere for spectators and audiences with music and snack stalls on the sidelines of the blue tennis courts.

Day four results:

CategoryPlayers 1(Winner)Player 2Score
Under 12 BoysArav EshwarDarsh Pai6-0
Under 12 BoysIshaan BadagiDarian Dacosta6-1
Under 12 BoysAryan KunkolkarSafin Sheikh7-6
Under 12 GirlsVara EshwarSaanvi6-0
Under 12 GirlsVidhi NaikTeethi6-4
 Men’s SingleAudhoot PalekarPrithvi Naik4-0, 4-1
Men’s SingleAnkit BhatejaNagesh Naik2-4,4-2,4-3
Men’s SingleTejas ShevdePushkar4-0, 4-0
Men’s SingleSantosh GorawarTushar4-2, 4-1
Men’s SingleRajendra GoudinhoSujit Saho4-0,4-0
Men’s SingleKafilVijay4-2, 4-3
Men’s SingleRajaram KundaikarAnant Kochar4-0, 4-0
Men’s SingleAnupam RajaJasper4-2, 4-2
Men’s SinglePrajat HalankarChinmay Kulkarni4-1, 4-0
Men’s SingleMahesh PardeshiBen4-0, 4-2
Men’s SingleSantosh GorawarNikhil4-0, 4-1

Day five results:

CategoryPlayers 1(Winner)Player 2Score
Under 16 BoysSaiel GajinkarAryan Kunkolkar6-0
Under 16 BoysAnkit BatejaKai Wong6-0
Under 16 BoysArav EshwarAditya Chouvan6-1
Under 16 BoysDarian DaCostaShay Walke6-1
Under 16 Boys Dattaraj Mikha 6-4
Under 16 BoysPuneetIshaan Badagi7-6
Under 16 GirlsVara EshwarSuby6-1
Men’s singlesAkhil ShirwaivaAnishek4-3, 4-7
Men’s singlesAmanKshitij4-0 ,4-1
Men’s singlesHruthikAman6-0
Men’s singlesDivij SharmaAshwin4-2, 4- 2
Men’s singlesMann ChabraShounak6-0
Men’s singlesSendhal PeriesAbhimany6-2
Men’s singlesShivaAditya Chowan6-0

Day 6 results :-

CategoryPlayers 1(Winner)Player 2Score
Under 12 BoysPuneet PhadteAryan Kunkolkar6-0
Men’s SinglesAnkit BhatejaAudhoot Palekar4-0,4-0
 Vivek ChaurasiaKanwalpreet Singh4-2,4-1
 Rajendra GoudinhoPrajat4-0,4-0
Ladies SinglesPoojal NaikSimran Bundela2-4,4-3,10-7
 NicolePriya Narvekar4-0,4-0