Select Page

Ms. Sheela Kolambkar for ‘Geera’ wins the Samsung Tagore Literature award in Konkani

Samsung India and Sahitya Akademi felicitated the best literary contributions by writers in seven Indian languages at the ‘Tagore Literature Awards’ Presentation Ceremony held in Kochi today. Named after the legendary poet, Sri Rabindranth Tagore, the ‘Tagore Literature Awards’ were presented to the writers in recognition of their excellence in the regional literary community. Instituted by Samsung India and the Sahitya Akademi in 2009, with the objective of encouraging Indian language literature, the awards felicitates writers in eight Indian languages every year, with 24 Indian languages being covered by the end of the third year. The literary contributions by writers are adjudged by a jury panel selected by Sahitya Akademi. This is the third edition of the Tagore Literature Awards.

Organised at the AJ Hall in Kaloor, the glittering Awards Function saw literary works in English, Konkani, Maithili, Malayalam, Manipuri, Nepali and Sindhi being awarded. The winners whose works covered different genres of novels, poetry, short stories and drama between 2007 – 2009 are: Mr. Amitav Ghosh for ‘Sea of Poppies’ (English); Ms. Sheela Kolambkar for ‘Geera’ (Konkani); Mr. Jagdish Prasad Mandal for ‘Gaamak Jingi’ (Maithili); Mr. Akkitham Achyuthan Nambudiri for ‘Anthimahakaalam’ (Malayalam); Mr. N. Kunjamohan Singh for ‘Eina Kenge Kenba Natte’ (Manipuri);  Ms. Indramani Darnal for ‘Krishna Krishna’ (Nepali) and Mr. Arjan Hasid for ‘ NA IEN NA’ (Sindhi).


The Award function was graced by Dr. M. Veerappa Moily, Honorable Minister for Corporate Affairs, Government of India as Chief Guest, while Mr. O.N.V Kurup and Mr. M.P. Veerendra Kumar, eminent writers and leading luminaries of Indian literature, joined the event as Guests of Honour. The other dignitaries at the event included Mr. Agrahara Krishna Murthy, Secretary, Sahitya Akademi and             Mr. B. D Park, President & CEO, South West Asia HQ, Samsung Electronics.

Speaking on the occasion, Mr. B. D. Park said, “Named after the legendary Sri Rabindranath Tagore – as revered in Korea as he is in India – the Tagore Literature Awards celebrate the power of literature to unify people across religions, regions and cultures. These Awards represents the achievement of these literary writers in the promotion and development of the richness of literature in India. And we at Samsung, are honored to be associated with these talented writers of Indian literature.”

Speaking about the Tagore Literature Awards, Mr. A. K. Murthy added, “The Tagore Literature Awards instituted by the Korean Government and Korean Embassy has been greatly appreciated by the literary fraternity in India. The third edition of the Awards continues to give recognition to leading luminaries of Indian literature whose outstanding works extend the fabric of our literature and enrich our community. The Tagore Literature Awards will further promote Indian Literature and strengthen literary and cultural ties between India and Korea.”

The Presentation Ceremony for the ‘Tagore Literature Awards’ was attended by leading luminaries from the world of art and literature, with renowned TV anchor, model and recent film debutant Ranjani Haridas hosting the ceremony. The evening had a fitting finale with the rendition of a collection of classical and fusion compositions by expert Bharatanatyam danseuse and a leading actress of South Indian motion pictures, Padma Shri Shobana Chandrakumar.

The Tagore Literature Awards have, over the past two years (2009 and 2010), recognized literary works across different genres of novels, poetry, short stories essays, biography/autobiography and plays etc.. In 2009, writers in Bengali, Bodo, Gujarati, Hindi, Kannada, Kashmiri, Punjabi and Telugu were felicitated, while the second edition of the awards honored literary works in Assamese, Dogri, Marathi, Odia, Rajasthani, Santali, Tamil and Urdu.