Select Page

  Mr. Kaikobad Mistry, CFO, Bayer Group in India with the Bayer National Scrabble Champion 2012 Mr. Irineu Gonsalves


The Grand Finals of the Bayer National Scrabble Championship 2012 under the aegis of the Scrabble Association of India took place in Mumbai at the Residence Hotel and Covention Centre, Powai. The tournament witnessed leading wordsmiths from across the country fighting it out for the top honours at this prestigious tournament. Irineu Gonsalves from Goa won the Bayer National Scrabble championship 2012 followed by Sherwin Rodrigues from Mumbai.

Speaking at the occasion, Kaikobad Mistry, Chief Financial Officer, Bayer Group in India, said, “Bayer Group worldwide has been committed to supporting cultural and sporting activities since its inception. It’s a pleasure to associate with the prestigious National Scrabble Championship and encourage and support Scrabble through this esteemed annual event.” He further added, “I have been witnessing this event for the past few years, since Bayer began its association with the game, and it is wonderful to see the increased participation, as well as the quality of contestants each year.”

The ecstatic winner of the Bayer National Scrabble Championship 2012 Irineu Gonsalves said, “I am extremely delighted about winning the championship. I would like to thank the Bayer Group in India for providing Scrabble enthusiasts with a platform that allows likeminded people to come together to promote the sport.”

This year the ultimate brain-teasing word game championship reached out to a huge number of participants across India. The youngest participant was 11 years old and oldest participant was 71 years old at this championship. Professionals like Doctors, Lawyers, IAS officers, Chartered Accountants, Journalists, MBA students and housewives competed for the coveted title.  There were 24 rounds in all with the first half being in Australian Draw format and the second half in the King of the Hill format. The tournament was held in Mumbai on May 18, 19 and 20, 2012.