Select Page
Winners and Runners Up at the Little Gaur League 2019-2020 season

Goa’s largest Baby League, the Little Gaurs League recently held its award ceremony, marking the end of a successful season. The awards were handed over to winners and runners up from each category along with individual awards to recognize promising talent, top scorers and best players. The ceremonies took place in all three zones, Sangolda in North Goa; Nagmodem in Navelim, South Goa  and at Mount Litera Zee ground in Vasco.

The Little Gaurs League offers young children the opportunity to regularly play competitive football while also bringing the community together. From 36 teams participating in the 2018-19 season, this year the Foundation saw participation from 110 teams. Games were conducted every Tuesday, Thursday and Saturday for over 3 months to engage in competitive football. The league had 957 registered players and a mammoth 1690 goals scored.

At ceremony held at Sangolda was graced by the presence of Bibiano Fernandes, coach of the U16 Indian national team; Sahil Tavora, former FC Goa and presently with Hyderabad FC; Jonathan Cardozo, FC Goa U18 player; and Denzil Franco, former FC Goa player.

In the North Goa zone, Team Play Goa A, won in the U6 category while GMS United were the runners up. GFDC Savoiverem won the U8 category while Don Bosco came in as runners up. St Joseph’s High School won in the U10 category with Apollo Football Academy being runners up while in the U12 category Saraswat Vidyala emerged winner while Princess Pea – St Thomas were the runners up.

The Nagmodem ground at Navelim saw Former Sports Minister of Goa, Avertano Furtado; FC Goa Development team player Aaron D’Silva; and former India International, Mrs. Domiana Gomindes as chief guests who gave away the trophies and awards to the winning teams.

In the South Goa zone, FC YFA emerged winner in the U6 and U8 categories while TKS Rubies and GFDC Navelim came in runners up respectively. In the U10 category SFX Boys Fatorda were the winners while GFDC Navelim were the runners up. In the U12 category GFDC Navelim emerged winners while Manovikas were the runners up.

At the Central Goa zone held at Mount Litera Zee ground in Vasco, the Forca Goa Foundation had AIFF Goa coordinator, Genevieve Colaco; Francisco Nunes, Executive Committee member GFA; and Umer Mutawalli, AFC A-license coach as chief guests to give away the awards

In the third and final zone at Vasco, Regina Mundi and FC Marina were the winners of the U6 and U8 categories respectively while Twinkling Stars and Tiny Goals Academy were the runners up. Salgaocar FC won the U10 category while Regina Mundi Academy came in runners up. Tiny Goals Academy won the U12 category while Marina FC came in runners up.

NORTHUnder 6Under 8Under 10Under 12 (Girls)
WinnerPlay Goa AGFDC SavoiveremSt. Joseph’s High SchoolSaraswat Vidyalaya
Runner-upGMS UnitedDon Bosco OratoryApollo Football AcademyPrincess Pea – St. Thomas
SOUTHUnder 6Under 8Under 10Under 12 (Girls)
WinnerFC YFAFC YFASFX Boys FatordaGFDC Navelim
Runner-upTKS RubiesGFDC NavelimGFDC NavelimManovikas
VASCOUnder 6Under 8Under 10Under 12 (Girls)
WinnerRegina MundiFC MarinaSalgaocar Football ClubTiny Goals Academy
Runner-upTwinkling StarsTiny Goals AcademyRegina Mundi AcademyMarina FC

The Foundation’s campaign #GrowWithTheGame urges Goans to make a serious commitment towards playing, learning and enjoying the game of football on a consistent basis. It asks supporters of Goan and Indian football to promote grassroots football i.e. encourage more children to play regularly and empower more individuals who want to contribute to the development of the game – be it coaching, refereeing, volunteering or just cheering!